Randy Newman’s song about New Orleans in “The Princess and the Frog” will be sung by Dr. John

UPDATE: Dr. John (Mac Rebennack) recorded Randy Newman’s “Down in New Orleans” this year in New Orleans at the Music Shed, a Garden District recording studio. The complete lyrics to the song as well as a YouTube video of the entire song being performed at the New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival is below. Scroll down and enjoy!

Also take a look here: “The Princess and the Frog – Video”

posted from iPhoneSlide.com

Here are all the songs Randy Newman sang during his performance at the Jazz Fest yesterday, in order, but I’m going to pull up one of them to the top and repeat it here because it is a new one which will begin Disney’s “The Princess and the Frog” animated feature, premiering next year at Christmas.


I’m not sure of the title of this next song. Randy amended what he said before the previous song, now saying both Disney as well as Pixar were at Jazz Fest, and in New Orleans working on the movie he called ‘The Frog Princess'” — even though it has been renamed “The Princess and the Frog” — and that Dr. John sings the opening song in the movie. Randy Newman also said that he was with Dr. John earlier that day (in fact, I discovered later that Dr. John was right there backstage, listening to Randy Newman’s performance) and that Randy would sing the song for us now. I don’t know shorthard so I wasn’t able to get the entire lyrics written down, but some of the phrases in this beautiful song include “In the Southland…”, “…prettiest women around…”, “Grab somebody, come on down, grab your paintbrush, gather ’round down in New Orleans…”, “Don’t be shy, do it down in New Orleans…”, and ends with the line “Dreams Do Come True Down In New Orleans.” This song will be the perfect start to “The Princess and the Frog” and it mentions New Orleans many times by name it it, plus the uplifting song is all about the city!

Randy said that Disney was here working on the movie, and according to Jon Pareles in today’s New York Times‘, “This week, along with Jazzfest, he was recording a song with the New Orleans sage Dr. John for a movie about old New Orleans, ‘The Frog Princess.'”


And now, here is his set, in order:


1. “Last Night I Had A Dream”

Last night I had a dream
You were in it I was in it with you
Everyone that I knew
And everyone that you know was in my dream
I saw a vampire
I saw a ghost
Everybody scared me but you sacred me the most
In the dream I had last night
In the dream I had last night
In my dream

It started out in a barnyard at sundown
And everyone was laughing and you were lying on the ground
You said “Honey can you tell me what you name is?”
“Honey, can you tell me what your name is?”
I said, “You know what my name is.”


2. “Laugh And Be Happy” Randy announced that the second song was a new song for New Orleans. It is “Laugh And Be Happy” and has the line “don’t let the bastards grind you down” in it which got a big cheer from the audience! I heard him say it was for New Orleans with my own ears, but the way Jon Pareles reports it in today’s New York Times, this song “counseled immigrants turned away at the border to ‘Smile right in their face/Pretty soon you’re gonna take their place.'” Was he not listening to what Randy said before the song began?

I know what’s going on here
Ain’t no great mystery
Ya’ll have lost faith in yourself
It’s clear as it can be

You can whine all you want to
Drown in your misery
Or you can listen to me
Listen to me

Laugh and be happy
Don’t you ever wear a frown
Don’t let the bastards grind you down
Laugh and be happy
It’s a simple thing to do
Believe in your dreams and your dreams will come through for you

There’ll be a red sun shinin’ in the sky so blue
Blackbirds be singing in the tree (thank you boys!)
There’s a real silver lining up there for me and you
Listen to me
Listen to me

Now the country that we’re living in
You mean the good old USA? That’s right!
Has never been about keepin’ you out
It’s about invitin’ you in and lettin’ you play

So laugh and be happy
Don’t you ever wear a frown
Get right back up on your feet whenever they knock you down
You’ve got to laugh and be happy
Smile right in their face
‘Cause pretty soon you gonna take their place

Come a whack whack whackin’ like old man trouble
Whackin’ on their front door
You try to send us packin’, on the double
But we ain’t goin’ away no more

So laugh and be happy
Don’t you ever wear a frown
Don’t let the bastards grind you down
Laugh and be happy
Now listen when I say
‘Cause everything is gonna go our way

We’ll be on top of the world


3) It’s So Hard Living Without You”

The milk truck hauls the sun up
And the paper hits the door
The subway shakes my floor
And I think about you
Time to face the dawning gray
Of another lonely day
Baby, it’s so hard
Living without you

It’s so hard
Baby, it’s so hard
Baby, it’s so hard
Living without you

Ev’ryone’s got something
And they’re out tryin’
to get some more
They got something to get up for
Well, I ain’t about to
Nothing’s gonna happen
Nothing’s gonna change
Baby, it’s so hard
Living without you

It’s so hard
Baby, it’s so hard
Baby, it’s so hard


4) “Short People” – Yes, Marcia, he sang it! 🙂

Short People got no reason
Short People got no reason
Short People got no reason
To live

They got little hands
And little eyes
And they walk around
Tellin’ great big lies
They got little noses
And tiny little teeth
They wear platform shoes
On their nasty little feet

Well, I don’t want no Short People
Don’t want no Short People
Don’t want no Short People
Round here

Short People are just the same
As you and I
(A Fool Such As I)
All men are brothers
Until the day they die
(It’s A Wonderful World)

Short People got nobody
Short People got nobody
Short People got nobody
To love

They got little baby legs
And they stand so low
You got to pick ’em up
Just to say hello
They got little cars
That go beep, beep, beep
They got little voices
Goin’ peep, peep, peep
They got grubby little fingers
And dirty little minds
They’re gonna get you every time
Well, I don’t want no Short People
Don’t want no Short People
Don’t want no Short People
‘Round here


5) “Potholes in Memory Lane” – Randy Newman played a song he first sang on a European tour in the summer of 2006, which is a quirky, humorous song about losing your memory when you get older and how it is good in the way you can forget the unhappy times. It starts with “I love women…” and lyrics in it include “God bless the pothole, down on memory lane… Some big ones open up, take some of the memories that do remain.”


6) “A Few Words in Defense of Our Country” in answer to the “bad things they’re saying about us in Europe”

I’d like to say a few words
In defense of our country
Whose people aren’t bad nor are they mean
Now the leaders we have
While they’re the worst that we’ve had
Are hardly the worst this poor world has seen

Let’s turn history’s pages, shall we?

Take the Caesars for example
Why within the first few of them
They were sleeping with their sister
Stashing little boys in swimming pools
And burning down the City
And one of ‘em, one of ’em
Appointed his own horse Consul of the Empire
That’s like vice president or something

That’s not a very good example, is it?

But wait, here’s one, the Spanish Inquisition
They put people in a terrible position
I don’t even like to think about it

Well, sometimes I like to think about it

Just a few words in defense of our country
Whose time at the top
Could be coming to an end
Now we don’t want their love
And respect at this point is pretty much out of the question
But in times like these
We sure could use a friend

Hitler. Stalin.
Men who need no introduction

King Leopold of Belgium. That’s right.
Everyone thinks he’s so great
Well he owned The Congo
He tore it up too
He took the diamonds, he took the gold
He took the silver
Know what he left them with?

Malaria

A President once said,
“The only thing we have to fear is fear itself”
Now it seems like we’re supposed to be afraid
It’s patriotic in fact and color coded
And what are we supposed to be afraid of?
Why, of being afraid
That’s what terror means, doesn’t it?
That’s what it used to mean

[To the first eight bars of “Columbia The Gem Of The Ocean”]

You know it pisses me off a little
That this Supreme Court is gonna outlive me
A couple of young Italian fellas and a brother on the Court now too
But I defy you, anywhere in the world
To find me two Italians as tightass as the two Italians we got

And as for the brother
Well, Pluto’s not a planet anymore either

The end of an empire is messy at best
And this empire is ending
Like all the rest
Like the Spanish Armada adrift on the sea
We’re adrift in the land of the brave
And the home of the free

Goodbye. Goodbye. Goodbye.


7) “You’ve Got A Friend In Me” – Randy said that “Pixar people are here today” and kidded around about how much money they made from “Toy Story” compared to how much they paid him for doing the songs in it.

You’ve got a friend in me
You’ve got a friend in me
When the road looks rough ahead
And you’re miles and miles from your nice warm bed
You just remember what your old pal said
Boy, you’ve got a friend in me
Yeah, you’ve got a friend in me

You’ve got a friend in me
You’ve got a friend in me
If you got troubles
I got them too
There isn’t anything
I wouldn’t do for you
We stick together, we can see it through
Cause you’ve got a friend in me
Yeah, you’ve got a friend in me

Some other folks might be a little bit smarter than I am
Bigger and stronger too
Maybe
But none of them
Will ever love you
The way I do
It’s me and you, boy

And as the years go by,
Our friendship will never die
You’re gonna see it’s our destiny
You’ve got a friend in me
You’ve got a friend in me
You’ve got a friend in me


8 ) The title of his next song is “Down in New Orleans.” Randy amended what he said before the previous song, now saying both Disney as well as Pixar were at Jazz Fest, and in New Orleans working on the movie he called ‘The Frog Princess'” — even though it has been renamed “The Princess and the Frog” — and that Dr. John sings the opening song in the movie. Randy Newman also said that he was with Dr. John earlier that day (in fact, I discovered later that Dr. John was right there backstage, listening to Randy Newman’s performance) and that Randy would sing the song for us now. I don’t know shorthard so I wasn’t able to get the entire lyrics written down (note: see the complete, updated lyrics below), but some of the phrases in this beautiful song include “In the Southland…”, “…prettiest women around…”, “Grab somebody, come on down, grab your paintbrush, gather ’round down in New Orleans…”, “Don’t be shy, do it down in New Orleans…”, and ends with the line “Dreams Do Come True Down In New Orleans.” This song will be the perfect start to “The Princess and the Frog” and it mentions New Orleans many times by name it it, plus the uplifting song is all about the city!

UPDATE: Here are the complete lyrics to “Down in New Orleans”:
(Introduction)
“The evening star is shinin’ bright
So make a wish and hold on tight.
There’s magic in the air tonight
And anything can happen.”

(First verse)
“In the southland, there’s a city
Way down on the river
Where the women are very pretty
And all the men deliver.

They’ve got music, it’s always playin’.
Starts in the daytime, goes on through the night.
When you hear that music playin’,
Hear what I’m sayin’, it makes you feel alright.”

(Chorus)
“Grab somebody, come on down.
Bring your paintbrush, paintin’ the town.
There’s some sweetness goin’ ’round,
Catch it down in New Orleans.”

(Second verse)
“They’ve got magic, good and bad
Makes you happy or make you real sad.
Get everything you want or lose what you had
Down here in New Orleans.”

(Chorus)
“Hey partner, don’t be shy.
Come on down, give us a try
You want to do some livin’ before you die?
Do it down in New Orleans.”

(Third verse)
“Shotgun shacks and mansions,
sugar barons and Mardi Gras kings.
Rich people, poor people, they all got dreams.
And dreams do come true in New Orleans.”

And a big tip of the mouse-eared hat to Disney EchoEar Ally / dumurin for finding this YouTube video of Randy Newman singing the complete song!

Randy said that Disney was here working on the movie, and according to Jon Pareles in today’s New York Times‘, “This week, along with Jazzfest, he was recording a song with the New Orleans sage Dr. John for a movie about old New Orleans, ‘The Frog Princess.'”


9) “Birmingham”

Got a wife, got a family
Earn my livin’ with my hand
I’m a roller in a steel mill
In downtown Birmingham

My daddy was a barber
And a most unsightly man
He was born in Tuscaloosa
But he died right here in Birmingham

Birmingham, Birmingham
The greatest city in Alabam’
You can travel ‘cross this entire land
But there ain’t no place like Birmingham

My wife’s named Mary
But she’s called Marie
We live in a three room house
With a pepper tree
I work all day in the factory
That’s alright with me

Got a big black dog
Whose name is Dan
Lives in my backyard in Birmingham
He is the meanest dog in Alabam’
Get ’em Dan

Birmingham, Birmingham
The greatest city in Alabam’
You can travel ‘cross this entire land
But there ain’t no place like Birmingham


10) “Marie”

Marie, you looked like a princess
The night we met
With your hair piled up high
I will never forget
I’m drunk right now, baby
But I’ve got to be
I never could tell you
What you mean to me

I loved you the first time I saw you
And I always will love you Marie
I loved you the first time I saw you
And I always will love you Marie

You’re the song that the trees sing
When the wind blows
You’re a river, you’re the moonlight
You’re a rainbow
Sometimes I’m crazy
But I guess you know
And I’m weak and I’m lazy
And I hurt you so
And I never listen to a word you say
When you come to me in trouble, darlin’
I just turn away

But I love you, and I loved you the first time I saw you
And I always will love you Marie
I loved you the first time I saw you
And I always will love you Marie


11) “It’s Money That I Love” – He told about how his mom would tell him to finish his food because of all the starving kids in India, and this song is his reaction to that.

I don’t love the mountains
And I don’t love the sea
And I don’t love Jesus
He never done a thing for me
I ain’t pretty like my sister
Or smart like my dad
Or good like my mama

It’s Money That I Love
It’s Money That I Love

They say that money
Can’t buy love in this world
But it’ll get you a half-pound of cocaine
And a sixteen-year old girl
And a great big long limousine
On a hot September night
Now that may not be love
But it is all right

One, two
It’s Money That I Love
Wanna kiss you
Three, four
It’s Money That I Love

Used to worry about the poor
But I don’t worry anymore
Used to worry about the black man
Now I don’t worry about the black man
Used to worry about the starving children of India
You know what I say now about the starving children of India?
I say, “Oh mama”

It’s Money That I Love
It’s Money That I Love
It’s Money That I Love


11) “Kingfish”

There’s a hundred-thousand Frenchmen in New Orleans
In New Orleans there are Frenchmen everywhere
But your house could fall down
Your baby could drown
Wouldn’t none of those Frenchmen care

Everybody gather ’round
Loosen up your suspenders
Hunker down on the ground
I’m a cracker
And you are too
But don’t I take good care of you

Who built the highway to Baton Rouge?
Who put up the hospital and built your schools?
Who looks after shit-kickers like you?
The Kingfish do

Who gave a party at the Roosevelt Hotel?
And invited the whole north half of the state down there for free
The people in the city
Had their eyes bugging out
Cause everyone looked just like me

Here comes the Kingfish, the Kingfish
Everybody sing
Here’s the Kingfish, the Kingfish
Every man a king

Who took on the Standard Oil men
And whipped their ass
Just like he promised he’d do?
Ain’t no Standard Oil men gonna run this state
Gonna be run by little folks like me and you

Here’s the Kingfish, the Kingfish
Friend of the working man
The Kingfish, the Kingfish
The Kingfish gonna save this land


12) “The World Isn’t Fair”

When Karl Marx was a boy
He took a hard look around
He saw people were starving all over the place
While others were painting the town (buh, buh, buh)
The public spirited boy
Became a public spirited man
So he worked very hard and he read everything
Until he came up with a plan

There’ll be no exploitation
Of the worker or his kin
No discrimination ’cause the color of your skin
No more private property
It would not be allowed
No one could rise too high
No one could sink too low
Or go under completely like some we all know

If Marx were living today
He’d be rolling around in his grave
And if I had him here in my mansion on the hill
I’d tell him a story t’would give his old heart a chill
It’s something that happened to me

I’d say, Karl I recently stumbled
Into a new family
With two little children in school
Where all little children should be
I went to the orientation
All the young mommies were there
Karl, you never have seen such a glorious sight
As these beautiful women arrayed for the night
Just like countesses, empresses, movie stars and queens
And they’d come there with men much like me
Froggish men, unpleasant to see
Were you to kiss one, Karl
Nary a prince would there be

Oh Karl the world isn’t fair
It isn’t and never will be
They tried out your plan
It brought misery instead
If you’d seen how they worked it
You’d be glad you were dead
Just like I’m glad I’m living in the land of the free
Where the rich just get richer
And the poor you don’t ever have to see
It would depress us, Karl
Because we care
That the world still isn’t fair


13) “Guilty”

Yes, baby, I been drinkin’
And I shouldn’t come by I know
But I found myself in trouble, darlin’
And I had nowhere else to go

Got some whisky from the barman
Got some cocaine from a friend
I just had to keep on movin’
Til I was back in your arms again

I’m guilty, baby I’m guilty
And I’ll be guilty all the rest of my life
How come I never do what I’m supposed to do
How come nothin’ that I try to do ever turns out right?

You know, you know how it is with me baby
You know, you know I just can’t stand myself
And it takes a whole lot of medicine
For me to pretend that I’m somebody else


14) “I’ll Never Get Over Losing You” – He announced this was a new song. I can’t find the complete lyrics online, but phrases in the song are below.

I was a fool with my money
And I lost every dime
The sun’ll stopp shining
And it rained all the time

I’ll get over losing anything
But I’ll never get over losing you.

When you’re young…

You don’t think that you will
But you do

But I know…

And I’ll never get over losing you.

I’ve been cold
I’ve been hungry
But not for a while.
I guess most of my dreams
Have come true.

And I’ll never get over losing you.


15) “You Can Leave Your Hat On”

Baby, take off your coat…(real slow)
Baby, take off your shoes…(here, I’ll take your shoes)
Baby, take off your dress
Yes, yes, yes
You can leave your hat on
You can leave your hat on
You can leave your hat on

Go on over there and turn on the light…no, all the lights
Now come back here and stand on this chair…that’s right
Raise your arms up in to the air…shake ’em
You give me a reason to live
You give me a reason to live
You give me a reason to live
You give me a reason to live

Suspicious minds are talking
Trying to tear us apart
They say that my love is wrong
They don’t know what love is
They don’t know what love is
They don’t know what love is
They don’t know what love is
I know what love is


16) “I’m Dead” – He says New Orleans is a musical town, so let’s have a singalong… He asked us all to sing along in the parts of the song where it goes “He’s dead! He’s dead!” Randy said there are so many performers, even at Jazz Fest, who had hits or maybe even one hit back in the 70s, but they’re still around performing — even when they don’t realize that maybe it is time for them to retire.

I have nothing left to say
But I’m going to say it anyway
Thirty years upon a stage
And now I hear the people say
Why won’t he go away?

I pass the houses of the dead
They’re calling me to join their group
But I stagger on instead
Dear God, Sweet God
Protect me from the truth

CHORUS

I’m dead but I don’t know it
(He’s dead He’s dead)
I’m dead but I don’t know
(He’s dead He’s dead)
I’m dead but I don’t know it
(He’s dead He’s dead)
Please don’t tell me so
Let me, let me go

I have a family to support
But surely, that is no excuse
I’ve nothing further to report
Time you spend with me
Is time you lose

BRIDGE

I always thought that I would know
When it was time to quit
That when I lost a step or two or three or four or five
I’d notice it
Now that I’ve arrived here safely
I find my talent is gone
Why do I go on and on and on and on and on
And on and on and on and on and on

(He’s dead He’s dead He’s dead)
I don’t know it
(He’s dead He’s dead He’s dead)
I didn’t know
(He’s dead He’s dead He’s dead)
I didn’t know it
(He’s dead He’s dead He’s dead)
How would be so cruel to tell me so?
(You’re dead!)

When will I end this bitter game?
When will I end this cruel charade?
Everything I write all sounds the same
Each record that I’m making
Sounds like a record that I made
Just not as good!

I’m dead but I don’t know it
(He’s dead He’s dead)
I’m dead but I didn’t know
(He’s dead He’s dead)
I’m dead but I don’t know it
(He’s dead He’s dead)
Please don’t tell me so
Please don’t tell me so
(YOUR”RE DEAD!!!)


17) “I Love L.A.” – The audience was singing along at the “We love it!” parts of the song.

Hate New York City
It’s cold and it’s damp
And all the people dressed like monkeys
Let’s leave Chicago to the Eskimos
That town’s a little too rugged
For you and me, you bad girl

Rollin’ down the Imperial Highway
With a big nasty redhead at my side
Santa Ana winds blowin’ hot from the north
And we was born to ride

Roll down the window, put down the top
Crank up the Beach Boys, baby
Don’t let the music stop
We’re gonna ride it till we just can’t ride it no more

From the South Bay to the Valley
From the West Side to the East Side
Everybody’s very happy
‘Cause the sun is shining all the time
Looks like another perfect day

I love L.A. (We love it)
I love L.A. (We love it)

Look at that mountain
Look at those trees
Look at that bum over there, man
He’s down on his knees
Look at these women
There ain’t nothin’ like em nowhere

Century Boulevard (We love it)
Victory Boulevard (We love it)
Santa Monica Boulevard (We love it)
Sixth Street (We love it, we love it)
We love L.A.

I love L.A. (We love it)
I love L.A. (We love it)
I love L.A. (We love it)


18) “Dixie Flyer” – He said that this song is autobiographical, unlike his other songs.

I was born right here, November ’43
My dad was a captain in the army
Fighting the Germans in Sicily.
My poor little momma
Didn’t know a soul in L.A.
So we went down to the Union Station and made our getaway.

Got on the Dixie Flyer bound for New Orleans
Across the state of Texas to the land of dreams.
On the Dixie Flyer bound for New Orleans
Back to her friends and her family in the land of dreams.

Her own mother came to meet us at the station,
Her dress as black as a crow in a coal mine
She cried when her little girl got off the train.
Her brothers and her sisters drove down from Jackson, Mississippi
In a great green Hudson driven by a Gentile they knew.
Drinkin’ rye whiskey from a flask in the back seat
Tryin’ to do like the Gentiles do
Christ, they wanted to be Gentiles, too.
Who wouldn’t down there, wouldn’t you?
An American Christian, God damn!

On the Dixie Flyer bound for New Orleans
Back to her friends and her family in the land of dreams
On the Dixie Flyer bound for New Orleans
Across the state of Texas to the land of dreams
Across the state of Texas to the land of dreams.


19) “Rednecks” – There was a big response of approval from the audience when he sang about LSU and many weresinging along with “We’re Rednecks…”. Afterwards, back behind the stage, I think I overheard John Lasseter remarking to friends about the audience participation, perhaps thinking how “The Princess and the Frog” might be received. Randy Newman announced after seeing this song that he was sorry he had to use the word, but found no way around it.

As my wife puts it, what’s funny is that the Louisiana-centric crowd that day at Jazz Fest is rabidly fans of LSU, yet the song “Rednecks” is derogatory of LSU, and still they cheered it because he sang “LSU”! Randy Newman’s songs at some time or other or some lyric lines or other probably offend a lot of people in the way that his Pixar compositions might otherwise charm and eloquently move others. Yet, behind the words astute listeners will detect that often Randy is poking fun at exactly what he appears to be celebrating.

Last night I saw Lester Maddox on a TV show
With some smart-ass New York Jew
And the Jew laughed at Lester Maddox
And the audience laughed at Lester Maddox too
Well, he may be a fool but he’s our fool
If they think they’re better than him they’re wrong
So I went to the park and I took some paper along
And that’s where I made this song

We talk real funny down here
We drink too much and we laugh too loud
We’re too dumb to make it in no Northern town
And we’re keepin’ the niggers down
We got no-necked oilmen from Texas
And good ol’ boys from Tennessee
And college men from LSU
Went in dumb – come out dumb too
Hustlin’ ’round Atlanta in their alligator shoes
Gettin’ drunk every weekend at the barbecues
And they’re keepin’ the niggers down

We’re rednecks, rednecks
And we don’t know our ass from a hole in the ground
We’re rednecks, we’re rednecks
And we’re keeping the niggers down

Now your northern nigger’s a Negro
You see he’s got his dignity
Down here we’re too ignorant to realize
That the North has set the nigger free
Yes he’s free to be put in a cage
In Harlem in New York City
And he’s free to be put in a cage in the South-Side of Chicago
And the West-Side
And he’s free to be put in a cage in Hough in Cleveland
And he’s free to be put in a cage in East St. Louis
And he’s free to be put in a cage in Fillmore in San Francisco
And he’s free to be put in a cage in Roxbury in Boston
They’re gatherin’ ’em up from miles around
Keepin’ the niggers down

We’re rednecks, we’re rednecks
We don’t know our ass from a hole in the ground
We’re rednecks, we’re rednecks
And we’re keeping the niggers down
We are keeping the niggers down


20) “Sail Away” – He announced this song is about a slave trader.

In America you’ll get food to eat
Won’t have to run through the jungle
And scuff up your feet
You’ll just sing about Jesus and drink wine all day
It’s great to be an American

Ain’t no lions or tigers
Ain’t no mamba snake
Just the sweet watermelon and the buckwheat cake
Ev’rybody is as happy as a man can be
Climb aboard, little wog
Sail away with me

Sail away
Sail away
We will cross the mighty ocean into Charleston Bay
Sail away
Sail away
We will cross the mighty ocean into Charleston Bay

In America every man is free
To take care of his home and his family
You’ll be as happy as a monkey in a monkey tree
You’re all gonna be an American

Sail away
Sail away
We will cross the mighty ocean into Charleston Bay
Sail away
Sail away
We will cross the mighty ocean into Charleston Bay


21) “Political Science” – People in the audience were singing along with entire song!

No one likes us-I don’t know why
We may not be perfect, but heaven knows we try
But all around, even our old friends put us down
Let’s drop the big one and see what happens

We give them money-but are they grateful?
No, they’re spiteful and they’re hateful
They don’t respect us-so let’s surprise them
We’ll drop the big one and pulverize them

Asia’s crowded and Europe’s too old
Africa is far too hot
And Canada’s too cold
And South America stole our name
Let’s drop the big one
There’ll be no one left to blame us

We’ll save Australia
Don’t wanna hurt no kangaroo
We’ll build an All American amusement park there
They got surfin’, too

Boom goes London and boom Paree
More room for you and more room for me
And every city the whole world round
Will just be another American town
Oh, how peaceful it will be
We’ll set everybody free
You’ll wear a Japanese kimono
And there’ll be Italian shoes for me

They all hate us anyhow
So let’s drop the big one now
Let’s drop the big one now


22) “Louisiana 1927” – The New York Times today quoted what Randy Newman said before performing this song at the Jazz Fest yesterday, about the aftermath of Katrina: “While he can usually be counted on for droll stage patter, he groped for words when he spoke about seeing parts of New Orleans still in ruins: ‘It’s an awful, awful thing that they would let this … awful thing that they would let those blocks and blocks of houses and lives, and people that they’ll never come back to, and say that, y’know, morale is up.’ He added that the flashy things ‘like the Jazzfest and the Mardi Gras, we can do that.’ That got a few laughs. ‘I would like to apologize for the federal government,’ he said, getting more. ‘This city is not good at fixing things. That isn’t what it does. The state’s not good at fixing things. It’s here for another reason. It’s important that America has a place like this that knows what’s important.’

I heard him say after that, “”I don’t want to bring you down, it’s my favorite place in the world…” and then he began the song. Many people, myself included, joined Randy in singing aloud during the chorus, “Louisiana, Louisiana, they’re trying to wash us away. They’re trying to wash us away.”

What has happened down here is the winds have changed
Clouds roll in from the north and it started to rain
Rained real hard and it rained for a real long time
Six feet of water in the streets of Evangeline

The river rose all day
The river rose all night
Some people got lost in the flood
Some people got away alright
The river have busted through clear down to Plaquemines
Six feet of water in the streets of Evangelne

Louisiana, Louisiana
They’re tyrin’ to wash us away
They’re tryin’ to wash us away
Louisiana, Louisiana
They’re tryin’ to wash us away
They’re tryin’ to wash us away

President Coolidge came down in a railroad train
With a little fat man with a note-pad in his hand
The President say, “Little fat man isn’t it a shame what the river has done
To this poor crackers land.”

Louisiana, Louisiana
They’re tryin’ to wash us away
They’re tryin’ to wash us away
Louisiana, Louisiana
They’re tryin’ to wash us away
They’re tryin’ to wash us away
They’re tryin’ to wash us away
They’re tryin’ to wash us away


23. (Encore) “I Want Everyone to Like Me”
I want everyone to like me.
I want everyone to like me real bad.
I want everyone to approve of me.
Because when they disapprove of me, it makes me feel so sad.

I wanna earn the respect of my peers.
If it takes a hundred years.
I’d like to find out where they are by the way.
I would run to embrace them.

I’m only kiddin.
I’m really very modest once you get to know me.

A house and a little land.
Little someone to lend a hand.
Little money set aside.
God, then I would be satisfied.

Want someone to tell me, one time: “Honey you don’t look well.
Why doncha lie down for a couple years. I’ll look after things.”
A grown up woman would be nice.
I’d like to flip her over once or twice.
Find out what makes her tick.

Some friends to call my own, God knows.
A family and a home.
A couple kiddies at my side.
Keep me fat, and satisfied.

I want everyone to like me.
That’s one thing I know for sure.
I want everyone to like me.
‘Cause I’m a little insecure.

6 Responses to “Randy Newman’s song about New Orleans in “The Princess and the Frog” will be sung by Dr. John”


  1. 1 Chris Romero May 2, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    Great set list. You’re filling in the blanks for a couple of songs I missed while in the food line (yes. guilty. had to get a snoball.)

    The lyrics for guilty, from Randy’s site…

    http://www.randynewman.com/tocdiscography/disc_good_old_boys/lyricsgoodoldboys

  2. 2 disneyecho May 2, 2008 at 4:29 pm

    Thanks! I’ll edit those lyrics into my report. Now if I could only get the lyrics to the song from “The Princess and the Frog.”

  3. 3 disneyecho May 2, 2008 at 6:13 pm

    And Chris, thanks for joining the Disney Echo!

  4. 4 Napha_moo May 3, 2008 at 7:21 am

    Thank you for this post.


  1. 1 It’s a small world, even at Jazz Fest! « Disney Echo Eyes And EchoEars Travel Blog Trackback on May 2, 2008 at 7:27 pm
  2. 2 “Down in New Orleans” song begins Disney’s “The Princess and the Frog” « Disney Echo Eyes And EchoEars Travel Blog Trackback on November 27, 2008 at 5:08 pm

Leave a Reply

Like This!
Like This on Facebook!

Disney Echo

Proud to be among the best blogs featured on Blogs of the Day and the Disney Echo forums.

Follow @DisneyEcho on Twitter:

Disney Echo on Facebook

Enter your email address to subscribe to the Disney Echo and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,741 other followers

About the Disney Echo

This website is not affiliated with any part of The Walt Disney Company.

The Disney Echo at DisneyEcho.emuck.com is your interactive online magazine to discover new wonders and share magical Disney memories.

The display on this page is set up to show the posts in reverse chronological order of when they were posted originally, so if you want to read the reports from the beginning, go to the last post on the last page and work forward. The first entry about the Koster family's July 2008 Disneyland trip can be found by clicking here and the first entry about their Easter 2008 Disneyland trip can be found by selecting this link.

That link goes to the very first travel-related article on this website: Welcome to our Trip Report.

The entry made after that first one is found after clicking the link named "Our Vacation Plans At-A-Glance" and that link is found above and below the first entry.

The third entry is similarly found after clicking the link above and below the second one, where the link is named "Packing Up"

One can read all the travel-related entries in the order they were posted by going to the next entry and the next entry the same way. Otherwise, this website defaults to displaying the most-recently-posted entries followed by older entries below it on the page as well as on the pages after it.

For more details, see What's a Disney Echo?

If you are enjoying the reports here, SUBSCRIBE to the Disney Echo blog so you will be notified each time a report comes in.

FTC-Mandated Disclosure: As of December 2009, bloggers are required by the Federal Trade Commission to disclose payments and freebies. Unless otherwise noted, Rich Koster did not receive any payments, free items, or free services from any of the parties discussed in these articles. He pays for his own admission to theme parks and their associated events, unless otherwise explicitly noted.

Share what you think about the Disney Echo! Anyone can reply to items on this website if you select the word "comment" or "comments" at any portion of the blog you'd like to comment about.
May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Older posts

The Disney Echo has been visited Hit Counter times by Disney fans since June 18, 1998.
We're glad you dropped by!

